2016 Naismith Trophy Finalists Announced


The finalists for the 2016 Naismith Trophy, given to the top player in men’s college basketball, were announced Sunday.

Oklahoma’s Buddy Hield, Michigan State’s Denzel Valentine, Kentucky’s Tyler Ulis and Virginia’s Malcolm Brogdon were selected out of 10 semifinalists.

Hield averaged 25.0 points and 5.6 rebounds per game for Oklahoma, leading the team to a No. 2 seed in the NCAA tournament.

Valentine averaged 19.2 points, 7.8 assists and 7.5 rebounds this season, leading the Spartans to a No. 2 seed in the NCAA tournament.

Ulis — the Kentucky point guard — averaged 17.3 points, 7.0 assists and 1.5 steals per game — on his way to being named the SEC Player of the Year and SEC tournament’s Most Valuable Player.

Brogden — a Virginia senior and ACC Defensive Player of the Year — averaged 18.6 points, 4.0 rebounds and 2.9 assists per game while leading the Cavaliers to the Sweet 16.

Powered by

No Comments

Leave a Reply